poltjunction.blogg.se

Illinois tollway ipass mounting strips
Illinois tollway ipass mounting strips






illinois tollway ipass mounting strips

The route is an easy way for Chicagoans to reach Shawnee National Forest in the southern tip of the state. At Kankakee, it heads northward largely parallel to the now decommissioned route of old US 54 (since renumbered largely as IL 50) into the Chicago area, meeting I-80 in Hazel Crest, I-294 in Blue Island, and feeding I-94 on Chicago's South Side. It then follows US 45, bypassing Champaign (where it meets I-72 and I-74), and heads north to Onarga, whereafter it follows the formerly duplex path of US 45 and (now decommissioned in most of Illinois) old US 54 to Kankakee. Its route follows essentially the earlier route of US 51 in southernmost Illinois (US 51 has been diverted to I-57 where I-57 has always been close to old US 51 between Future City and Dongola) before taking a northeastward diagonal to Illinois Route 37 (IL 37), which remains intact as a town-to-town through route, past its interchange with I-24 (the northwestern terminus of I-24) near Pulleys Mill and a short duplex with I-64 near Mount Vernon north to Effingham, where it has a short concurrence with I-70. I-57 is the longest Interstate Highway in Illinois. In the state of Illinois, I-57 runs from the bridge over the Mississippi River north to Chicago. I-57 has one business loop in Charleston, Missouri.

illinois tollway ipass mounting strips

At a length of just over 386 miles (621 km), it is the second-longest two-digit Interstate Highway without an auxiliary route, behind I-49. A southward extension of I-57 from its current southern terminus to Little Rock, Arkansas is currently in various stages of development.Īs of 2023, I-57 has no spur routes nor are any planned for the near future. Likewise, at its southern end, Chicago is the control city listed for I-57 on signs on northbound I-55 south of Sikeston, even though I-55 also goes to Chicago. In fact, both the control cities on the overhead signs and the destination mileage signs reference Memphis along southbound I-57, even as far north as its northern origin at I-94 in Chicago. Between the junction of I-55 and I-57 in Sikeston and the junction of I-55 and I-90/I-94 in Chicago, I-55 travels for 436 miles (702 km), while the combination of I-57 and I-94 is only 396 miles (637 km) long between the same two points. Louis, Missouri and Springfield, Illinois. I-57 essentially serves as a shortcut route for travelers headed between the South ( Memphis, New Orleans, etc.) and Chicago, bypassing St. It runs from Sikeston, Missouri, at I-55 to Chicago, Illinois, at I-94. Interstate 57 ( I-57) is a north–south Interstate Highway in Missouri and Illinois that parallels the old Illinois Central Railroad for much of its route. IL: Alexander, Pulaski, Union, Johnson, Williamson, Franklin, Jefferson, Marion, Fayette, Clay, Effingham, Shelby, Cumberland, Coles, Douglas, Champaign, Ford, Iroquois, Kankakee, Will, Cook








Illinois tollway ipass mounting strips